Name (for a signed copy)

The Spy Devils

Now Available

A deadly case. An international operative. When a mission turns personal, who will make it out alive?

Trowbridge ‘Bridger’ Hall was raised to kill. Leading a highly trained team of covert agents, he’s loyal to his squad and his country. But when his infamous CIA controller and mother assigns his crew an unusual off-books operation, his finely tuned senses scream danger.

Hunting a stolen briefcase across the world, his instincts proven lethally correct when one of his men ends up dead. And with potentially ruthless maternal betrayal and treacherous enemies closing in, it’s play or be played in a vicious game of death…

Can he crack the conspiracy before it costs his life?

The Spy Devils is the high-octane first tale in The Spy Devils thriller series. If you like pulse-pounding espionage, explosive action, and insidious double-crosses, then you’ll love Joe Goldberg’s page-turning story.

Would you like an autographed copy, signed to you? Use the Buy Now button to the left to buy directly from Joe and you'll also get a bookmark and pen, free!

Gold Medal
Thriller/Suspense Finalist in the 2021 IAN Book of the Year Awards

Fans of the spy genre will quickly feel at home in this speedy story of deception… Goldberg escorts audiences behind the curtain of one of the world’s most secretive and risky professions.
—Booklife Reviews
Joe Goldberg’s The Spy Devils is one hell of a fun read, and perfect for fans of Daniel Silva and Joseph Finder.
—The Real Book Spy
The Spy Devils is a helluva book.  It’s a smoldering thrill ride.  An expertly crafted tale written with an insider’s eye for detail and deft prose that will have fans of the genre begging for more.
—Joshua Hood, International Bestselling Author of Robert Ludlum’s Treadstone
Gripping and fast-paced, The Spy Devils is a pulse-pounding thriller written with great expertise.
—Simon Gervais, former RCMP counterterrorism officer and bestselling author of Hunt Them Down
Unputdownable. Goldberg storms the scene with Spy Devils, a thriller that resonates with a Silva and Le Carré authenticity. Entertaining, explosive, edifying.
—K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack
… imagine the talents behind The Expendables movies, The Mission Impossible movies, and Archer TV series all joining together for one grand witty spy action thriller that is The Spy Devils!
—Kashif Hussain, Best Thriller Books

Book Trailers

Video credit: Gnaw Bone Studios

Full Praise

“Goldberg’s (Secret Wars) international thriller sets its game of cat-and-mouse among a group of renowned covert operatives scouring the globe on a mission to retrieve a mysterious briefcase. Trowbridge “Bridger” Hall lives to unmask bad guys and deliver justice, and he has assembled a crack team known as the Spy Devils to unveil the worst of the worst. When this crew gets tasked by a private intelligence legend to retrieve a silver case requiring biometric keys to open it, they have no idea what they’re getting into—fast-paced international adventure with dangerous twists and a slew of criminals on the hunt.

Fans of the spy genre will quickly feel at home in this speedy story of deception. Readers are whisked away to Ukraine, Taiwan, Texas, Serbia, and China, the worlds of CEOs, oligarchs, assassins, and customized Devilbot drones. What’s inside this “oddly-shaped silver briefcase?” That’s for the Spy Devils to find out before it falls into the wrong hands. At times, the sprawling cast feels crowded, making it challenging for readers to keep track of the leads, but Goldberg’s crisp, inviting prose propels the adventure forward.

With cliff-hangers and clear, gritty action—’He gagged, stiffened, and jerked back as his feet spasmed against the floor, propelling him and the chair backward’—Goldberg escorts audiences behind the curtain of one of the world’s most secretive and risky professions. Dynamic scenes where the Spy Devils use any means necessary to get information from their enemies accentuate a rather quick read, and Goldberg’s past as a CIA covert action officer gives him distinctive authority to make Bridger’s story convincing. Passion and admiration for this dangerous profession shine from the pages. Espionage fans looking for a quick dip into the world of spies, lies, and justice will enjoy tagging along with Bridger and his team.

Takeaway: Global espionage and fast-paced action collide in this spy thriller. Great for fans of: David Ignatius’s The Quantum Spy, Mark Greaney The Gray Man.”
—Booklife Reviews

“Using his years of experience in the CIA to bring readers the kind of been-there-done-that spy thriller the genre has been lacking, Joe Goldberg’s The Spy Devils is one hell of a fun read, and perfect for fans of Daniel Silva and Joseph Finder.”
—The Real Book Spy

The Spy Devils is a helluva book. It’s a smoldering thrill ride. An expertly crafted tale written with an insider’s eye for detail and deft prose that will have fans of the genre begging for more.”
—Joshua Hood, International Bestselling Author of Robert Ludlum’s Treadstone

“Gripping and fast-paced, The Spy Devils is a pulse-pounding thriller written with great expertise.”
—Simon Gervais, former RCMP counterterrorism officer and bestselling author of Hunt Them Down

“Unputdownable. Goldberg storms the scene with Spy Devils, a thriller that resonates with a Silva and Le Carré authenticity. Entertaining, explosive, edifying.”
—K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack

The Spy Devils is a refreshing change of storytelling in the spy action genre with creative action sequences, dark humor, and witty good guys and gals who go to rather extreme antics in their missions of battling the worst mankind has to offer. The smart and slick narrative gets better by the page, and it makes you wonder if truth really is stranger than fiction when you remember that the foreword mentions the story is based on true events.

The Spy Devils are a lethal ragtag group of former spies who put their skills to use against exposing nefarious criminal and meddling espionage organizations. This idea is executed brilliantly by Joe Goldberg who balances both the gritty and violent nature of the business with the satirical and darkly humorous nature of The Spy Devils to create a fun environment that is not found in many thrillers today. The team, even as a force of good, feels more of an anti-heroic team as it battles fire with fire. There are moments where if not for the complete context, you’d think The Spy Devils were the antagonists with the way they interrogate the bad guys like it’s just another day at the office. It’s beautiful.

The action sequences are some of the more brutal, vicious, and stylish I have read in the genre, with authentically detailed weaponry in shootouts and hand-to-hand combat sequences. The Spy Devils use high-tech gadgets in addition to the conventional weaponry, particularly the ‘Stick’; a telescoping baton, that also acts as a taser and an aerosol dispenser of toxins, and augmented mini-drones nicknamed ‘Devilbots’ that are capable of shooting 9mm bullets accurately over a decent range in addition to being pretty hand for recess. The creative technology utilized in The Spy Devils feels right at home in a Mission Impossible movie crossed with The Expendables-styled shootouts and knife fights.

The story itself is a big deviation from the usual Middle-Eastern themed narratives, instead focusing on grayer than gray shadowy personal vendettas in a corporate espionage setting that is tied expertly to foreign states and dangerous criminals. There is an aura of mistrust in every page, keeping readers guessing wildly as to who to believe all the way to the ending. Gripping subplots are woven seamlessly to work their way simultaneously to the climax where the bigger picture hits you in the face and you can’t help but be impressed.

If I could sum up the vibe of the book, I’d ask you to imagine the talents behind The Expendables movies, The Mission Impossible movies, and Archer TV series all joining together for one grand witty spy action thriller that is The Spy Devils!”
—Kashif Hussain, Best Thriller Books

Sign up for Joe's Newsletter: