Secret Wars

Secret Wars: An Espionage Story is a suspenseful glimpse into the shadowy world of the CIA, where deceivers become the deceived and the consequences are life or death. It’s a clandestine world where intricate networks of people fight a complex battle to keep the world safe from terrorism.

When terrorists funded by the Libyan government strike airports in Rome and Vienna in 1985, the CIA enlists top propaganda expert Mike Garnett to help recruit a high-ranking Libyan official, Foreign Minister Abdallah Mukhtar, to work for the CIA. As violence escalates between the US military and terrorists based in Libya, Garnett utilizes CIA assets in Hollywood to produce a propaganda video designed to convince Mukhtar he was betrayed by his own regime. Garnett’s plan works—but goes sideways when it motivates the Libyan official to do something Garnett didn’t even consider.

Sharp and insightful, Secret Wars is a thrilling tale of deception, betrayal, and patriotism—and Garnett soon learns they’re not as black and white as they seem when he’s forced to reevaluate the true nature of the business of deception.

For fans of Tom Clancy, David Ignatius, and Frederick Forsyth, Secret Wars is a fictional thriller set against the backdrop of historical events. Meticulously researched, it pulls from the author’s personal experiences as a member of the CIA.

A remarkable thriller that delivers exactly what its title promises.
Kirkus Reviews

Joe Goldberg has rendered a terrific work of fiction that feels intense, authentic and utterly engaging.
NYT #1 Bestselling Author Mark Greaney

In Secret Wars Joe recounts true stories in a heart-thumping novel that’s spot on for events then—and now.
—LtCol Oliver North, USMC (Ret.)

[Secret Wars] is quite possibly the most authentic espionage thriller ever written in fiction.
—Author JT Patten

Book Trailer

Full Praise

“A remarkable thriller that delivers exactly what its title promises.”
Kirkus Reviews (read more)

“Joe Goldberg has rendered a terrific work of fiction that feels intense, authentic and utterly engaging. Secret Wars: An Espionage Story takes the reader behind the scenes of a multi-faceted CIA operation of deception and subterfuge involving international terrorism in the 1980’s. With realistic heroes, villains and settings, Secret Wars feels like a riveting non-fiction account of a top secret scheme in the black realm of CIA counter terror. Fans of Argo will especially enjoy the intricate op at the center of Secret Wars, but all lovers of the spy genre will want to devour this book in one sitting.”
—Mark Greaney, #1 NYT Bestselling Author

“President Ronald Reagan told terrorists: ‘You can run but you can’t hide.’ He was right because Joe Goldberg was on the job at CIA. In Secret Wars Joe recounts true stories in a heart-thumping novel that’s spot on for events then—and now. WARNING: Don’t start this book at bedtime unless you’re prepared to lose a night’s rest. I know. Back then, Joe and I lost a lot of sleep.”
—LtCol Oliver North, USMC (Ret.), Host of War Stories on FOX News Channel

“As I read Secret Wars, I spent most of my time trying to figure out what was real and what was fiction. The story is set at the dawn of the United States’ war against terrorism crackles with realism and authenticity. “
—Kevin Maurer, award-winning journalist and best selling co-author of No Easy Day, a first hand account of the raid to kill Osama bin Laden

Secret Wars is a chillingly accurate inside look into the CIA and the world of espionage and deception. It immerses us in the violent moments when the deadly global war on terror went public. As Secret Wars illuminates in detail, this was fought by dedicated, hard-working people…civilians and military. Secret Wars is a true espionage novel by any definition.”
—Duane Clarridge, former CIA senior operations officer, founder of the CIA Counterterrorism Center

“Joe Goldberg’s novel, Secret Wars, is quite possibly the most authentic espionage thriller ever written in fiction. This story can be used as text for any budding intelligence professional or spy enthusiast. Absolutely unbelievable…yet so believable.”
—JT Patten, author of Safe Havens: Shadow Masters

Sign up for Joe's Newsletter: